Today’s muse.

TWITTER:                                                                                                                  I wonder if there are people like me who until recently didn’t know that twitter was a valid word in the dictionary. I bet there are people who still do not know.

MEANING:

*A light repeated chirping sound made by especially small birds.     

*A nervous or excited state.                                                                                                                           (as defined by Chambers 21st dictionary).

chambers-dictionary
HOW CAN U IMPROVE YOUR VOCABULARY WITHOUT ONE?

                   

IMPREGNABLE:                                                                                                         Some years ago, I had a friend who sent me messages on regular basis. One day he sent this text that I can still remember something about it. It was a text with my name as an acronym. Funnily, the only letter of this word I can remember is the letter I and it stood for IMPREGNABLE.  I checked my dictionary then and didn’t find this word so I thought,” it is invalid”. Years later, I found the meaning and it is something I am proud to call myself.

impregnable-def

MEANING:                                                                                                                  

  *City, Fortress not able to be defeated, seized or even taken by force.

impregnable-wall

* Not able to be affected, seized or taken by force.                                                                                 (as defined by Chambers 21st Dictionary)    

impregnable-3             

UNORTHODOX:                                                                                                           Every time my friends argued, it was an opportunity for me to learn new words. Glory would always say ‘I am uncommon’. Timi laughed and said, please use a better word. That day, i learnt the word, UNORTHODOX.

MEANING:                                                                                                                *  Different from what is being accepted.                                                                                         (as defined by Oxford advanced learners dictionary                                         – mobile app).

unorthodox3
one of such persons- MARTIN LUTHER KING JNR.

                                                                                                                                     

                                                                         

unorthodox1
think of MARY SLESSOR, MOTHER THERESA…

                                                                                                      

There is beauty in knowing what others do not know, it sets you apart,puts you on the spotlight. One of the reasons I chose to blog is to have words that are not in our list of everyday words. I hope someone has learnt from this. I remain your friend.

EZEANI FLORA CHINENYE.

I LOVE YOU.

unorthodox is on twitter :@me_unorthodox.

2 thoughts on “Today’s muse.

Leave a Reply

